Building a Soviet List

Having been asked for a couple of orders of battle from recent games I thought a good place to start was a current list I’ve been experimenting with. That is the Soviet list, with a couple of modifications, I used in the “Golubev’s Gamble” scenario.

I of course generally use the Scenario Generation System to generate my games, so the following is based around this system. In particular a scenario set in the 1980s involving an Attack or Encounter List has a 850 points budget. This basic 850 point list can be further supplemented by a selection of options.

In the past I have based a number of lists on a single Soviet Motor Rifle Regiment with a range of supports. However, I recently used a list based on two under strength regiments. Now, in these previous lists I alternate between formations built around BMP and BTR Regiments. I have a preference for BMP based Motor Rifle Regiments, as tracked vehicles are not slowed by hills and fields which feature often on our gaming table. However, historically a greater number of regiments in a Motor Rifle Division were equipped with BTRs. Therefore I frequently field BTR based regiments. After all the Scenario System works best if different formations are used. This time however I opted for a mix.

You can download a copy of the Soviet Order of Battle I used in “Golubev’s Gamble” scenario here.

As you can see there are four manoeuvre battalions. On the offensive a single battalion can be suffer casualties quickly therefore operating them as a regiment allows more firepower to be concentrated. However, with four battalions on the table points will always be at a premium. As a result each of the battalions is under strength. Of course if you are considering using this list feel free to change the composition of the battalions. Possible options I have considered are changing the tank types, reducing AA or adding in additional fighting or support stands.

One of the challenging aspects of Modern Spearhead is the allocation of resources in the planning phase even before the models are placed on the table.

With one of my regular opponents often fielding fixed wing and rotary air support this list is reasonably well equipped with AA systems both on and off-table. Reading some of the reports of previous games you will see one of my opponents frequently attempts to silence my off table SAM systems using M107 guns. As a result I’ve selected off-table SAM which are well out of range of his guns. However, these M107s, when not targeting SAM systems, will be firing counter-battery fires. In an attempt to disrupt these fires I have selected a battalion of M-1955 guns with for my own counter-battery fires. A slightly less expensive option would be towed S-23 180mm guns or perhaps even another battalion of 2S3 for more direct support of my attack. However, unlike the M-1955s both can easily be targeted by the M107s. Clearly each has strengths and weaknesses.

I have only added one Option A into the list. I need to expand some of these options in future, but with the enemy “listening” I can’t give too much away. In general I use the optional reinforcements to add variety and potentially catch an opponent off-guard. Over the years I have found fixed wing air support useful as such attacks can be overwhelming forcing a sudden and critical outcome. Even a weak air attack can be useful as it reminds an opponent of the need for his own AA. In this list the Mig-23s are armed with Improved Conventional Munitions, a useful weapons load against an enemy conducting a counterattack. In my most recent game the air support wasn’t called in, but I imagine next time it will. Certainly it will if I can silence his SAM, but that’s for another time.

2 thoughts on “Building a Soviet List

Leave a Reply

